Archery at the Olympics

  • Archery had its debut at the 1900 Summer Olympics.

  • Eighty-four nations have competed in the Olympic archery events, with France appearing the most often at 31 times.

  • The most noticeable trend has been the excellence of South Korean archers, who have won 23 out of 34 gold medals in events since 1984.

  • Recurve archery is the only discipline of archery featured at the Olympic Games. 

  • 70m is the standard range.

  • Archery is also an event at the Summer Paralympics.

  • From 1988 through 2016, Olympic archery consisted of four medal events: men's individual, women's individual, men's team, and women's team. The mixed team event is being added in 2020. In all five events, the distance from the archer to the target is 70 meters.

Interesting facts...

  • In the 1900 Summer Olympics live pigeons were used as the target in the archery competition.

  • Archery has been an Olympic sport almost from the beginning. Its debut in the Summer Olympics occurred in 1900. In 1924 it was discontinued and it was reintroduced in 1972.

  • Arrows in a competition fly 2.5x the speed of a cheetah

  • The south Korean women have been undefeated since 1988!

  • When you’re not being called Hawkeye, or Katniss, an archer can also be referred to as a toxophilite. The word derives from an amalgamation of two Greek words meaning ‘lover of the bow’.

  • The world champion archer... who is blind

There are 5 events at the Olympics

Individual (Men's & Women's)

In the individual competitions, 64 archers compete. The competition begins with the ranking round. Each archer shoots 72 arrows (in six ends, or groups, of 12 arrows). They are then ranked by score to determine their seeding for the single-elimination bracket. After this, final rankings for each archer are determined by the archer's score in the round in which the archer was defeated, with the archers defeated in the first round being ranked 33rd through 64th.

Team (Men's & Women's & Mixed)

The team event uses the results of the same ranking round as the individual competition to determine seeding for the teams. The team's three individual archers' scores are summed to get a team ranking round score. The competition thereafter is a single-elimination bracket, with the top 4 teams receiving a bye into the quarterfinals. The semifinal losers face each other in the bronze medal match. The set format from the individual competition was not used in 2012, but was used beginning in 2016. In team matches prior to 2016, each archer shot 8 arrows, with the best overall team score (for the total of 24 arrows) winning the match. Beginning with 2016, the set format (with each archer shooting two arrows per set for a total of six arrows per team per set) is used.


More information can be found here -

© 2021 by NFAMANUAL.